Ian

Similarity transformation Grid to 1D array of coordinates

I've got a large number of datasets in netcdf format and need to update the coordinate reference system from GDA94 to GDA2020.  I'm new to geodesy so have been spamming geosciences Australia, who have been very helpful, but I'm stuck and need some assistance from the community if possible.

As is standard, the gridded data surfaces in our netcdfs are defined geospatially using 1D array of lat and lon coordinates. Each grid cell is ~1km x 1km.  I've tried using gdalwarp from GDAL 2.2.2 to reproject them, but the coordinates are shifted by only ~2.1x10e-15, which seems dubious.  I understand that at this resolution the shift is negligible, however, we will be using this for scaling with 30m res drone data so having the higher precision is required.

For the similarity transformation I need ellipsoidal height, so I've accessed the AUSGeoid09 .gsb file and found latitude and longitude offsets, and I've got a grid of elevation data from a DEM to approximate the AHD.  I've downloaded the GA conversion spreadsheet and coded the formulae up in python, however, this is where I'm stuck. I'm unsure how to shift 1D arrays of lat/lon coordinates using a grid of height values. Depending on what the longitude is, the height will be different for the same latitude, and vice versa.  I can do it over the full grid, but then I need to take simply unique values after rounding, and this feels dubious also.  I should say that in my tests of the code, the shift is ~ 0.5-1.5m which seems closer to correct.

I've read that there are tools in QGIS for this process, however, the NTv2 grid plugin says it only handles up to GDA94.

Can anyone shed some light on this please? 

Hi Ian,

GDA2020 isn't really available as an "operational" datum just yet - recommend review / keep an eye on the ICSM website for information about GDA2020